

INNF Constitution

Name:

The group/ organisation will be known as the Irish Neurology Nursing Forum (INNF)

Aims of the INNF:

- To represent and promote the vital/critical role of nurses working in neurology throughout the island of Ireland.
- To provide collegial/mutual support and advice/advocacy through on-going/continuing educational activities/undertakings and the promotion of evidence based practice and research and sharing of best practice.
- To collaborate/work with other professional and voluntary organisations across the breadth/scope of neurology on issues related to patient advocacy, services, policies and guidelines/standards to support excellence in practice.
- To provide opportunities to network locally, nationally and internationally.
- To ensure the delivery/provision of patient centred quality care.

Membership:

• Membership is open to all nurses registered with the NMBI working in clinical practice in neurology including all sub specialities under this domain.

Subscriptions:

- The annual subscription for membership will be determined annually by the committee.
- Rates will apply to a calendar year and are due by March 31st each year.
- Rate for 2023 is €20 and will include attendance at AGM in November 2023.

Meetings:

- The INNF will meet at least once a year. This will include the annual general meeting (AGM).
- The quorum for the AGM shall be 10

Committee:

- The committee is the executive governing of the Forum.
- INNF members at the AGM will elect 8 committee members (ideally these will be representative of sub specialities and regions). Officers are subsequently elected by the committee.
- The quorum of a committee must be 4, one of whom must be an elected officer.
- The committee consists of 4 officers and either the outgoing chairperson (who will serve one year after the term of presidency) or the chair elect (who shall serve one year before assuming the Chair) and 3 other elected members.
- All committee members (not existing officers) must stand for annual election.
- Members who have served on the committee are eligible for re-election after one year out of office.
- The committee shall meet twice per year.
- OFFICERS the officers of the committee will be as follows:
 - Honorary Chairperson: The chairperson shall be elected by the committee at the AGM. The duration of the office will be for 2 years. The chairperson shall not normally be eligible for re-election to that office.



- Honorary Secretary: The secretary shall be elected by the committee at the AGM.
 The duration of the office will be for 2 years. The secretary shall not normally be eligible for election to two consecutive terms of office.
- Honorary Treasurer: The treasurer shall be elected by the committee at the AGM.
 The duration of the office will be for 2 years. The treasurer shall not normally be eligible for election to two consecutive terms of office.
- Honorary Educational Officer: The Educational Officer shall be elected by the committee at the AGM. The duration of the office will be for 2 years. The Educational Officer shall not normally be eligible for election to two consecutive terms of office.
- Honorary Communication Officer: The Communication Officer shall be elected by the committee at the AGM. The duration of the office will be 2 years. The Educational Officer shall not normally be eligible for election to two consecutive terms of office.

Amendment to the constitution:

Amendments to the constitution should be requested in writing, submitted to the secretary at least one month prior to the AGM and must be passed by two thirds majority at the AGM.

Contact us at innforum1@gmail.com